Each year NAWBO Charlotte awards two women business owners with prestigious awards.
These women are nominated by you, and a panel of judges interviews each finalist to choose the final winners.

Click here to read more, meet our finalists: 2018 Awards Gala

Click Here for the 2019 NAWBO Charlotte Awards &
NC Women Business Owners Hall of Fame Awards Gala

Congratulations to our 2018 winners!

  Read the 2018 Awards Gala Winners Press Release

Rising Star Winner:

Crystal Cliff
Phoenix Moon Acupuncture and Apothecary


Woman Business Owner Winner:

Debbie Peterson
Money Counts

Debbie Headshot - Turquoise


Rising Star Finalists:

RS Finalists Headshot 2

Woman Business Owner Finalists:

WBO Finalists Headshot Rev

Click here to read about our finalists

The Rising Star Award is presented to a member who has demonstrated entrepreneurial creativity and determination in successfully managing a business that is less than five years old.

The Woman Business Owner Award is presented to a member who has demonstrated strong leadership skills in growing and managing a successful business that is more than five years old. 

Previous Award Winners

Previous Woman Business Owner Award Winners

2017 Fabi Preslar, SPARK Publications
2016 Julie Ayers, LBA Haynes Strand, PLLC
2015 Ellen Linares, HF Financial
2014 LeeAnn Shattuck, The Car Chick
2013 Amanda Carroll, Sage Jewelry Arts
2012 Delaine Mead, Valuebiz Business Furnishings
2011 Sara Garces Roselli, Red F Marketing
2010 Angela Key, Premier Resources
2009 Elaine Creasser, Tile Collection, Inc.
2008 Roberta Farnum, Home Instead Senior Care
2007 Sandra Feldman, Costa Rica Tours, Ltd.
2006 Frances Queen, Queen Associates, Inc.
2005 Jane Boston, Motivations, Inc.
2004 Jennifer Pippin, Pippin Home Designs
2003 Suzanne Bumgarner, Resources Employment Services
2002 Helen-Marie Berthold, Ehren-Haus Industries, Inc.
2001 Dr. Mimi Vollum, Independent Distributor, Shaklee Corp.
2000 Sherry Barretta, Vision-Cor, Inc.
1999 Linda Chapman-Capron, Charlotte Outdoor Adventure Center, Inc.
1998 Ann Allen Adams, Adams & Associates
1997 Sherre’ DeMao, SLD Unlimited Marketing/PR, Inc.
1996 Pam Boileau, The Marketing Consortium
1995 Dr. Margurette M. Staley, Freedom Animal Hospital
1994 Elaine Lyerly, The Lyerly Agency
1993 Melanie G. Boone, Melanie G. Boone, Ltd.
1992 Katie Tyler, Tyler 2 Construction
1991 Sherry Smith, Resources Employment Services
1990 Vickie Fresh, Carriage House-Ethan Allen Gallery
1989 Dr. Patricia Kyle, FacFind, Inc.
1988 Barbara Miller, Court Reporting Services
1987 Angie DeVivo, Secretaries Plus/Conventions Plus
1986 Gail Marshall, Auctions by Marshall, Inc.

Previous Rising Star Award Winners

2017 Carolina Aponte, Caja Holdings
2016 Penny Benkeser, SERVPRO of NW Charlotte, Lincoln and Gaston Counties
2015 Lisa Woodie, HomeMade Fresh Chef Service
2014 Nicole Odom, Dogtopia of Charlotte
2013 Wendy Laxton, Laxton CFO Services
2012 Karen Bennetts, Little Red Bird
2011 Dr. Vicki Parker, The Brain Trainer
2010 Jessica Babinski, New American Mortgage
2009 Barbara Jones, Allegra Print & Imaging
2008 Sara Garces Roselli, Red F Marketing
2007 Darcey Walraven, Walraven Chiropractic
2006 Memuna Williams, Avantgarde Translations
2005 Betsey Macholz, Baskets of Yarn
2004 Roberta Farnum, Home Instead Senior Care
2003 Frances Queen, Queen Associates, Inc.
2002 Sandie Ridings, Signs Now
2001 Carole McLeod, New South Waste, Inc.
2000 Julie Garella, Carnegie Capital Advisors
1999 Cathy Critz, Solutions FYS, Inc.
1998 Monique L. Abner, MD, Medical Doctor, Plastic Surgeon
1997 Marcia Grier, Marcia A. Grier & Co.
1996 Lindsay Daniel, Lindsay Daniel Architectural Services
1995 Jean Griswold, Metrolina Outreach Mammography
1994 Dutch Stamey, Summit Training & Development Institute
1993 Sherry Barretta, Training Visions, Inc.
1992 Sally Moorehead, The Firing Point